Louise Glück, Former Writers' Workshop Faculty

Prize Work: The Wild Iris; Pulitzer Prize: 1993 Poetry

Louise Glück (born 1943) is an American poet.

            GlückAuthor Biography - Louise Glück was born in New York City in 1943 and grew up on Long Island. She is the author of numerous books of poetry, most recently, Averno (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006), a finalist for the 2006 National Book Award in Poetry; The Seven Ages (2001); and Vita Nova (1999), winner of Boston Book Review's Bingham Poetry Prize and The New Yorker's Book Award in Poetry. In 2004, Sarabande Books released her six-part poem "October" as a chapbook.

Her other books include Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Award; Ararat (1990), for which she received the Library of Congress's Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; and The Triumph of Achilles (1985), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Boston Globe Literary Press Award, and the Poetry Society of America's Melville Kane Award.

In a review in The New Republic, the critic Helen Vendler wrote: "Louise Glück is a poet of strong and haunting presence. Her poems, published in a series of memorable books over the last twenty years, have achieved the unusual distinction of being neither "confessional" nor "intellectual" in the usual senses of those words."

She has also published a collection of essays, Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994), which won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for Nonfiction. Her honors include the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, a Sara Teasdale Memorial Prize, the MIT Anniversary Medal and fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, and from the National Endowment for the Arts.

In 1999 Glück was elected a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets. In the fall of 2003, she replaced Billy Collins as the Library of Congress's twelfth Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry. In 2003, she was announced as the new judge of the Yale Series of Younger Poets, a position she will hold through 2007. Glück taught at various prestigious schools including Columbia, University at New York, University of Iowa, University of California at Berkeley, Brandeis University, and Harvard. Presently, she is a writer-in-residence at Yale University.

Source: poets.org

Learn More About Glück's Prize Winning Work

The Wild Iris by Louise Glück

Book Description
In this sixth collection of Glück's poetry, ecstatic imagination supplants both empiricism and traditions, creating an impassioned exchange among the divine, the human, and the natural world.
(Taken from barnes&noble.com)

Browse The Book
Front Cover | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
(Taken from Amazon.com)

Editorial Reviews
View editorial reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Amazon.com, The Washington Post and more.
Read the reviews >>

An Interview with Louise Glück

In an interview in the winter of 2006, from Beltway Poetry Quarterly, Louise Glück discusses her Pulitzer Prize winning work, The Wild Iris.
Read the interview >>

Bibliography - Louise Glück


* Firstborn (1968)
* The House on Marshland (1975)
* The Garden (1976)
* Descending Figure (1980)
* The Triumph of Achilles (1985)
* Ararat (1990)
* The Wild Iris (1992)
* The First Four Books of Poems (1995)
* Meadowlands (1996)
* Vita Nova (1999)
* The Seven Ages (2001)
* Averno (2006)


* Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994)

External links