Iowa GED Test Requirements and Guidelines


If you were unable to receive a high school diploma in a traditional manner due to personal choice or unforeseen circumstances you may still receive your Iowa high school equivalency diploma by taking the GED.

GED testing service – image by

In Iowa, the GED examination is overseen by the Iowa Literacy Resource Center as well as the Iowa Department of Education. If you are interested in taking the GED test then you will need to ensure you meet all eligibility requirements and take the appropriate steps to register.

Iowa GED Test Guidelines:

The first eligibility requirement set forth by the State of Iowa is your age. In order to qualify for the Iowa GED test you must be at least 18 years of age and be a legal resident of Iowa.

People taking GED must be a legal resident of Iowa – image by

The Iowa Literacy Resource Center states that you must be officially withdrawn from school for a minimum of six months and not have a valid high school diploma.

If you meet the aforementioned requirements, then you will need to visit your local Iowa GED testing facility. The Iowa Literacy Resource Center offers a list of all authorized Iowa GED testing centers (available in the Sources section below).

GED testing center – image by

Upon visiting the Iowa GED testing facility, you will need to provide the facility with an official photo identification such as your Iowa driver’s license, identification card, school ID card or a valid US passport. You may use out-of-state driver’s license or identification card as long as it is state-issued.

Sao Paulo
A valid US passport might be required – image by

After you have filled out the application form, you must then pay the Iowa GED testing facility an examination fee. The exact fee for the GED test varies from facility-to-facility, thus contact the facility prior to arriving to learn of the current examination fee.

Passing the Iowa GED Test:

To pass the Iowa GED examination you must successfully meet the minimum score on all five exam sections. These sections include: Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Reading and Writing. You must score a minimum of 410 on each of the five sections and have a final average sectional score of 450. To pass you must also have an minimum total score of 2250.

To pass the Iowa GED examination you must successfully meet the minimum score on all five exam sections – image by

If you were unable to successfully pass the all five of the sections, you are able to retest on only the sections you failed or if you failed the entire test you may be able to retake the entire GED examination.

The testing facility will inform you of their regulations regarding retesting. Take note, you will more than likely be required to wait a specific amount of time before being allowed to retake the Iowa GED examination in full or in part.


Iowa Literacy Resource Center: GED in Iowa

Iowa Literacy Resource Center: List of Iowa’s GED Test Centers

Diploma Guide: The Iowa GED


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here